Strive

Most people have that person that they strive to be or be like.  Someone who is intelligent but not egotistical, kind but not so much that they get walked on, funny but not in an obscene way (unless you like that sort of thing). That person is my mom. She is all of those things and more.  She is my best friend. She is always there when I need her. She is there for advice, even if I don’t want.  Sometimes it is nice to get another opinion.  Or if I really don’t want advice, she is there to listen. She is there to hear me complain or to hear about my success. She is there for me to cry or to mend me when I am sick. And yes, I may be 26, but who doesn’t want there mom when they are sick!  She has been there to encourage me every step of my life.  I can remember her coming to my sporting events when I was in high school. And she never missed a band or choir concert. She was there when I graduate college, when I got married, and when I had my first baby (and second).  She is the one person in life that has stood by my side, not in front or behind me, and encouraged me to be my best. 

 Thank you mom for all those things!  I cannot express how lucky I am to have a mother and a friend like you.  And how lucky I am for my children to have a grandma, or as we call you, nana, like you.   Happy birthday!!!

Mom and me

Mom and Sammie

Mom and Mason

Leave a comment